OBLIVION | 02

CHAPTER 02: THE UNEXPECTED

(Bang!)

Her phone nearly flew due to the sudden force. But fortunately, the man, who bumped into her, catched it.

“Gotcha!” The handsome young man said as he catched the phone.

“Hey! Watch out!” Iris exclaimed.

“I’m so sorry, Miss. I’m just in a hurry. I didn’t mean to bump into you. Please forgive me, Miss,” the man replied.

I’m also in a hurry, you know. So please be careful. My phone please?” When she looked up to him, she realized he was staring at her.

“Um. Excuse me, Mister? Can I get my phone now? I thought you were in a hurry?”

The man suddenly came to his senses.

“Oh, I’m sorry. Here’s your phone. Keep safe, Miss! Bye!” The man smiled sweetly at her, then he rushed to the station’s exit.

Iris blushed a little. She sighed, as she looked at her phone.

“Oh, dear. You nearly gave me a heartattack. Well, just a little.”

She sent her message to Grace and rushed to the station’s exit.

Meanwhile, as Grace waited patiently for Iris, she saw Polo, Iris’ ex-boyfriend, from a distance.

“Oh! Look who’s here. And who’s this girl, huh?”

Just then, her phone vibrated. She saw Iris’ message.

“Oh, Iris. You’re often late,” she sighed, after reading the text message.

A few moments later, Iris arrived at the park.

“Grace!!”

“Hey, Iris! Ugh! What took you so long? I’m hungry, you know?”

“Well, I’m sorry,” she replied, as she managed to catch her breath. “I just didn’t notice the time when I was researching this morning. And, there’s this guy who accidentally bumped into me at the station… And you know what—”

While she was busy explaining, the sight of Polo and the girl, who were just from a distance, suddenly caught her attention. She was a little dumbfounded.

“Iris? Hey, let’s go!”

“Oh! Okay. That’s right. Let’s go.”

As they walked to the restaurant of Grace’s uncle…

“So, you also saw Polo? Right?” asked Grace.

“Yeah. Such an ugly sight. It’s just a little surprising that he got someone new that fast. Tss,” Iris replied with a little irritation.

“It’s just two months ago since we broke up,” Iris continued.

“Yeah. But, come on, don’t make that sad face. You don’t deserve him anyway.”

Iris took a short glance at Grace.

“Okay, let me cheer you up. Yesterday, I met Byron. And guess what? He asked me something about you,” Grace said with a teasing tone in her voice.

“Duh! As if I’ll believe you,” Iris chuckled.

“Haha! He asked me why you are so beautiful. Hahaha!” Grace continued.

“Grace! Please cut it out!” Iris replied, breaking into smile.

“You see, a smile looks better on you,” Grace told her, slightly punching her arm.

“Oh, Grace! You really know how to make me smile, huh?” Iris giggled.

“Yes, of course. Oh wait! I can see it! That’s the restaurant!”

“Huh?” Iris tried to look at where Grace was pointing.

“Iris, hurry! I’m really hungry…”

“Okay. Okay,” replied Iris, as she followed Grace.

(TO BE CONTINUED…)

Share your Thoughts about the Post

